The Better Choice

Read these familiar words again with fresh eyes.

38Now it came to pass, as they went, that he entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received him into her house. 39And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word. 40But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to him, and said, Lord, dost thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me. 41And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things: 42But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.

Ouch, that had to hurt.  Don’t you think.  We don’t actually know how Martha reacted since this story ends here, but put yourself in Martha’s place.  Working, working, working, and then pretty much being scolded by her guest.  I kinda think she might have pouted for a while.  I probably would have.

Most women I talk to say that they struggle in this area.  They say that they are naturally a Martha.  I don’t doubt that since I would say the same about myself.  But I find it interesting that Jesus used the word “chosen” when He talked about Mary.  He said that “Mary has chosen the better thing.”  Ah, so it’s a choice?  Yep, that’s what He said.

So, if I am proudly proclaiming my “Martha-ness”,  what I’m really saying is that I choose to stay busy doing “stuff” rather than spending time at Jesus feet.  And that’s something I need to work to change rather than proclaiming it proudly as so many of us do.

Let me encourage you to spend some time at His feet today.  There is a reason it’s the better choice.  You will not regret it and will even find yourself not being able to resist the craving for more time with Him.  It will, no doubt, change your life.

This entry was posted in devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment